Senior Management


The Economic Affairs Department is the Government think tank responsible for policy analysis on a wide range of issues including: fiscal and monetary policies, trade reforms, financial sector reforms, and private sector development issues.

It co-ordinates the preparation and monitoring of the national budget; the monitoring and analysis of macroeconomic performance especially relating to fiscal and monetary policies; the analysis and formulation of tax policy; monitoring and development of local, regional and international fiscal policies and agreements; the regulation of financial institutions; and the co-ordination of the development of regional economic policies.

It is responsible for ensuring that policy advice is targeted at achieving the Governments strategic objectives as spelled out in the Economic Recovery Strategy, namely, achieving rapid economic growth and jobs creation, reducing poverty on a sustained basis, and strengthening governance.

The Department has the following Divisions:

1. Fiscal Policy Division (FIPOD).
2. Macro and Financial Sector Division (MAFISD)
3. Fiscal Administration and Private Sector Issues Division (FAPSID)


Fiscal Policy Division (FIPOD)
The FIPOD is primarily responsible for short-and medium-term projection of revenues, expenditures (in collaboration with Budget Supplies Department), and deficit financing.

The Division also develops monthly cash-flow projections for the Budget and participate in the preparation of the Medium-Term Fiscal Framework (MTFF) and other budgetary documents including the Budget Outlook Paper (BOPA) and the Budget Strategy Paper (BSP).

The Division is responsible for budget monitoring, tax policy, inter-governmental fiscal relations, and external trade related issues.


The MAFISD is responsible for coordinating macro-fiscal policies. It monitors closely fiscal and monetary policies, exchange rate and interest rates developments and provides monthly reports on recent economic developments. The Division, in liaison with other relevant institutions, is in charge of coordinating policies in the financial sector including such areas as: banks, non bank financial institutions micro-finance, insurance industry, retirement benefits, and the capital markets. The Division has the following three Sections:


The PSDI Section undertakes the following:
Administers fiscal investment incentives schemes such as Tax Remission for Export Office (TREO), Manufacture Under Bond (MUB) and Export

Processing Zones (EPZ) in liaison with other Government Institutions.
Reviews, analyses and advises on matters relating to investment and export incentives in general


The Division is responsible for investment incentives, tax waivers, exemptions and remissions.

It is in charge of following-up on private sector related issues, such as the on-going streamlining of the licensing regimes and efforts to improve Kenya's investment climate.

The Division has the following two Sections, and is responsible for several other auxiliary tasks: